Double Degree

The “Double Degree Oslo-Hannover” Programme (DDOH) is an educational programme in which students can obtain two degrees: LL.M. (Hannover), LL.M. (Oslo).

Students have the opportunity to achieve two LL.M. degrees in one year. The study phase at Leibniz Universität Hannover will be followed by a study period at Universitetet i Oslo. It comprises an integrated and modularised curriculum, supplemented by a jointly-taught seminar and a final exam (master thesis).

The programme, which is coordinated by the Institute for Legal Informatics at Leibniz Universität Hannover, is built upon the idea of transnational academic collaboration and aims to bring important educational benefits to individuals and academic institutions.

Note

The Double-Degree is only possible in cooperation with the University of Oslo. It can only be achieved if the second semester is spent there.


As for all of our partner universities there is a limited number of places for EULISP students at the University of Oslo. Decisions on who will be allowed to participate will ultimately be made by both participating faculties.

WHAT IS A DOUBLE DEGREE?

A double degree consists of two nationally-recognised diplomas issued by two institutions involved in an integrated study programme. It involves a student studying for two different University degrees in parallel. Typically in a double-degree programme, both of the participating institutions compress the workload required and thus enable students to complete their degrees in less time than it would take to earn them separately. Double degrees must not be confused with double majors, which usually consist of two majors attached to a single degree.

JOINT CURRICULUM

The double degree programme is of a duration of 12-months and commences in winter semester at Leibniz Universität Hannover. The Double Degree Students attend the basic and elective modules of EULISP in Hannover. In addition, a seminar held by German and Norwegian lecturers will be organised, which aims to examine the close links between European law and information- and communication-technology law.

The second semester starts in February at Universitetet i Oslo. It aims to provide the students with in-depth knowledge in European and international law in the field of information and communication technology. 

The students can choose from the classes offered within the modules. However, the following requirements must be met: Instead of the standard 60 ECTS, a total of 90 ECTS credits must be acquired. 60 credits of the total 90 must be gained in Oslo, for which 2-3 classes (depending on the number of credits awarded for each class) and the master thesis (30 ECTS credits) must be completed. In Hanover, at least 30 ECTS credits must be collected, including those from a seminar (6 ECTS). Each class must be passed with the ECTS mark E or above. Double degrees will only be awarded if a candidate gains the necessary ECTS at both Universities.

EXAMINATION

At Leibniz University, lectures and seminars will be held in German and in English. Lectures in Oslo will be held in English. The academic achievements will be accepted in Hanover and Oslo in the framework of the European Credit transfer system (ECTS), which is applied at both institutions.

Preparation of a thesis is a compulsory requirement which has to be completed during the second semester as this amounts to the final examination. After having submitted a thesis proposal by the end of the preceding year (31 December), in which students outline their topics and field of desired research, the allocation of topics is conducted at the end of the first semester. Topics must be within the field of Legal Informatics/ICT-Law or Intellectual Property Law. Double Degree theses must be submitted in English and will be evaluated by two competent professors, one from each participating faculty.

Once students have satisfied all requirements prescribed by each institutions' ordinances, which includes mutual recognition of study and examination results, the academic degree "Master of Laws" (LL.M.) will be awarded by each University. Degree certificates and transcript of records will also be issued separately by each University.

Double Degree

Das „Double Degree Oslo-Hannover“ Programm (DDOH) ist ein Bildungsprogramm, in dem Studierende zwei Abschlüsse erwerben können: LL.M. (Hannover) und LL.M. (Oslo).

Studierenden bietet sich durch dieses Programm die Möglichkeit, zwei LL.M.-Abschlüsse innerhalb eines Studienjahres zu erwerben. Die Studierenden haben die Möglichkeit, innerhalb eines Jahres zwei LL.M.-Abschlüsse zu erwerben. An die Studienphase an der Leibniz Universität Hannover schließt sich ein Studienaufenthalt an der Universitetet i Oslo an. Sie umfasst ein integriertes und modularisiertes Curriculum, das durch ein gemeinsam gelehrtes Seminar und eine Abschlussprüfung (Masterarbeit) ergänzt wird.

Das Programm, das vom Institut für Rechtsinformatik der Leibniz Universität Hannover koordiniert wird, baut auf der Idee der transnationalen akademischen Zusammenarbeit auf und zielt darauf ab, Einzelpersonen und akademischen Institutionen einen wichtigen Bildungsnutzen zu bringen.

Hinweis

Der Double Degree ist nur in Kooperation mit der Universität Oslo möglich. Er kann also nur erreicht werden, wenn das zweite Semester dort verbracht wird.


Wie für alle unsere Partneruniversitäten gibt es auch an der Universität Oslo nur eine begrenzte Anzahl an Studienplätzen für EULISP-Studierende. Bei einer zu hohen Anzahl an Bewerbern*innen wird die Entscheidung darüber, wer nach Oslo gehen kann um an dem Programm teilzunehmen, letztlich von den beiden beteiligten Fakultäten getroffen.

WAS IST EIN DOUBLE DEGREE (DOPPELDIPLOM)?

Der Double Degree ist ein Doppelabschluss, der aus zwei national anerkannten Diplomen besteht, die von zwei Institutionen ausgestellt werden, die an einem integrierten Studienprogramm beteiligt sind. Dabei studiert ein*e Student*in parallel für zwei verschiedene Universitätsabschlüsse. Typischerweise komprimieren die beiden beteiligten Institutionen in einem Doppeldiplomprogramm den erforderlichen Arbeitsaufwand und ermöglichen es den Studierenden so, ihre Abschlüsse in kürzerer Zeit zu erwerben, als dies bei einem getrennten Studium der Fall wäre.

GEMEINSAMER LEHRPLAN

Das Double Degree Programm hat eine Dauer von 12 Monaten und beginnt Anfang September an der Leibniz Universität Hannover. Die Double Degree-Studierenden besuchen zunächst die Grund- und Wahlmodule von EULISP in Hannover. Darüber hinaus wird ein von deutschen und norwegischen Dozenten gehaltenes Seminar organisiert, das die engen Verbindungen zwischen europäischem Recht und dem Recht der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie untersuchen soll.

Das zweite Semester beginnt im Februar an der Universitetet i Oslo. Es zielt darauf ab, den Studierenden vertiefte Kenntnisse des europäischen und internationalen Rechts im Bereich der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie zu vermitteln. 

Die Studierenden können aus dem Lehrangebot innerhalb der verfügbaren Module wählen. Die folgenden Voraussetzungen müssen jedoch erfüllt sein: Anstelle der üblichen 60 ECTS müssen insgesamt 90 ECTS-Credits erworben werden. Von den insgesamt 90 ECTS-Credits müssen 60 Credits in Oslo erworben werden, wofür 2-3 Kurse (je nach Anzahl der für jeden Kurs vergebenen Credits) und die Masterarbeit (30 ECTS-Credits) absolviert werden müssen. In Hannover müssen mindestens 30 ECTS-Credits erworben werden, darunter auch solche aus einem Seminar (6 ECTS). Jede Klasse muss mit der ECTS-Note E oder höher bestanden werden. Doppeldiplome werden nur dann vergeben, wenn ein Kandidat an beiden Universitäten die erforderliche ECTS-Note erreicht.

PRÜFUNG

An der Leibniz Universität werden die Vorlesungen und Seminare in deutscher und englischer Sprache abgehalten. Die Vorlesungen in Oslo werden auf Englisch gehalten. Die Studienleistungen werden in Hannover und Oslo im Rahmen des Europäischen Systems zur Anrechnung von Studienleistungen (ECTS) anerkannt, das an beiden Fakultäten angewandt wird.

Die Anfertigung einer Masterarbeit ist eine Pflichtvoraussetzung, die im zweiten Semester absolviert werden muss, da es sich hierbei um die Abschlussprüfung handelt. Nachdem bis zum Ende des Vorjahres (31. Dezember) ein Vorschlag über die Masterthese eingereicht wurde, in dem die Studierenden ihre Themen und ihr gewünschtes Forschungsgebiet skizzieren, erfolgt am Ende des ersten Semesters die Vergabe der Themen. Die Themen müssen im Bereich der Rechtsinformatik, des IT-Rechts oder des Immaterialgüterrechts angesiedelt sein. Doppelabschlussarbeiten müssen in englischer Sprache eingereicht werden und werden von zwei zuständigen Professoren*innen, je eine*r von jeder teilnehmenden Fakultät, beurteilt.

Sobald die Studierenden alle in den Verordnungen der einzelnen Institutionen vorgeschriebenen Anforderungen erfüllt haben, wozu auch die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Studien- und Prüfungsergebnissen gehört, wird von jeder Universität der akademische Grad "Master of Laws" (LL.M.) verliehen. Abschlusszeugnisse und Urkunden werden ebenfalls von jeder Universität separat ausgestellt.