Universitetet i Oslo

The Universitetet i Oslo is Norway's oldest, largest and most prestigious institution for research and higher education. It has played a key role in many changes in Norway.

About the University

Founded in 1811 as Royal Frederick University the university was originally named after King Frederick of Denmark and Norway and only received its current name in 1939. Until its founding, the University of Copenhagen was the only University of Denmark-Norway. After the dissolution of the Dano-Norwegian union in 1814, close academic ties between the countries have been maintained. The University of Oslo was the only University in Norway until 1946 and therefore it was often informally referred to as "The University". Today, the university is divided into eight faculties, spread over the newer Campus Blinder in the West End and the old campus in the centre of Oslo.


Language of study: English

  • IELTS 6.5 overall; TEOFL minimum total score 90; CPE or CAE, or equivalent

Fees: None (Erasmus+ partner)

Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law is located at the historic campus site on Karl Johans gate, in the vicinity of the Royal Palace, the National Theatre and the Parliament.

The Norwegian Research Centre for Computers and Law (NRCCL) is one of the first institutions to address the challenges of information and communication technology. It is involved in numerous international research projects. The NRCCL Master's programme has an excellent reputation and attracts students from all over the world.

Double Degree

EULISP students who spend their second semester at the University of Oslo have the opportunity to participate in the “Double Degree Oslo-Hannover” Programme (DDOH).